A Rather Boring Men’s Sunglasses Case

A couple of weeks ago I pledged this:

I, Beth, of After Dark Sewing, pledge this Sew Selfless September to sew three items for three different people – one being my partner.

(As part of Sew Selfless September, hosted by the Sometimes Sewist.)

Well, I made my boyfriend something. I still feel a bit selfish, because it was so easy and simple. (The perfect beginner project!)

But I made something nonetheless. And he’s happy with it, so I don’t feel too guilty that I didn’t put in more effort to make something truly fabulous!

Of course if you read the title of this post you will know that it’s a sunglasses case!

Easy Beginner Project - A Sunglasses Case

The reason I say it’s rather boring is because a) it’s a relatively simple design, and b) it’s grey and plain. I’m itching to add some pretty embellishment! But it’s for a man, so…. it’s grey and plain. And woolly!

It is brighter inside, though (and that little tab); it’s spotty 🙂 He’s even got some pink in there!

P1080216

To make it, I followed the fabulous tutorial on Create.Craft.Love – however omitted the fusible fleece step because a) I don’t have any, and b) I used a chunky wool suiting fabric, which I think counteracts the need for the fleece (and I was right; it holds up well – hooray!)

This is an ideal project for beginners, because it involves straight stitching, clipping corners, pressing, turning, and a little topstitching. And then very soon you have a little item to be proud of! If you haven’t made a sunglasses case, why not?!

P1080256

It turned out the perfect size for a pair of sunglasses – phew! When you’ve started dressmaking, it’s nice to make something simple like this sometimes. It gave me a break from unpicking!

Here’s a peek inside (excuse the loose threads… haha).

P1080259

So there you have it.  A quick and easy little project for Sew Selfless September.

I have one more selfless project completed to share with you – but you will have to wait until next week. And don’t worry, this one took longer than five minutes to make!

Til then… happy sewing and enjoy making one of these if you do – we are forecast to have an Indian summer heading our way in October after all!!

Beth x

 

5 thoughts on “A Rather Boring Men’s Sunglasses Case

  1. Pingback: SSS: Weekly Wrap Up Round 3 | the Sometimes Sewist

  2. I’m really enjoying seeing all these smaller projects you’re sewing up. I’ve vowed to myself that I must use up some left over material from various projects, before I’m allowed to buy anything new, so thanks for the inspiration 🙂

    Like

    • You’re such a loyal commenter 😀
      That’s exactly why I need to do these little things too! It also gives you a quick sewing boost when you’re tired of unpicking lol.
      I’m desperate to make the Ruby dress from Love Sewing mag but am really trying hard not to buy any more fabric til I use a good amount from my ever growing stash! It’s hard!!

      Liked by 1 person

I really enjoy reading your comments; please do share your thoughts!

