Party Dress No. 2

I finally got round to making another party dress (by Cottage Mama) to match the one I made my eldest daughter a good couple of months ago!!

My motivation was my taking part in Sew Selfless September. This is my third and final piece of selfless sewing. (Not ever! Just for the challenge!)

*By the way, sorry for bombarding you with photos… I can’t choose the best ones!!*

party dress no. 2

I often make one thing using a pattern, and don’t use it again. This dress taught me that using a pattern again is great – I whizzed through it because of course I knew what I was doing.

If you read my post about my first party dress, you will know that I had some trouble with the alignment of the fairies. I was fussy; I wanted them all to line up. So I had some pieces cut from last time that I could use this time; just trimming the sides a little. That definitely sped up the cutting stage!

P1080303

If I’m honest, I think it’s a tad tight around the bust – well, it’s OK for now, but there’s little or no growing room there.

This is probably because I decided to put in normal buttons, after having problems making that blessed rouleau loop that should have been made to make the loop style buttonholes. I even have the fancy turner tool, but it just wasn’t working.

P1080314

So of course the bodice back pieces overlap slightly, which is included in the pattern. By this point, I’d already cut the pieces, so I wasn’t going to go back and make it bigger!

Little one needs to stop growing now anyway. She’s supposed to be my baby!

P1080306

I really need to learn how to tie a proper, neat bow. Having said that, even if I did have that knowledge, I’m not too sure that she’d stay still for me to do it neatly. I can just about manage a scruffy bow before she wriggles away!

P1080308

I just love this pattern. It’s so simple yet so rewarding. It’s such a classic party dress style. I was shopping earlier today and saw dresses similar to this (albeit not in such a cute print!) and thought to myself – do you know what, Beth? You don’t need to waste £15 on one of those, you can make one yourself. As long as you can find the right fabric, you can sew such pretty little girls’ dresses. And it’s such fun too – bonus!

It’s a shame that I’ve used almost all the fairies side of the duvet cover up now, though… I suppose it’s a good job I only have two girls to clothe in matching dresses!

P1080316

 

I will definitely be using this pattern again. I love that it spans all the way up to Age 10. I can see many more party dresses in my girls’ wardrobe in the future… and they’re all handmade 🙂 (Besides gifted ones, of course! We have a lovely family member who often gives the girls beautiful Monsoon dresses – now they’re something to compete with!)

P1080319

Oh goodness, if either girl turns out to be a tomboy, I WILL NOT BE HAPPY!!P1080309

Anyway… I’m rather impressed with my topstitching. I don’t know if you can even see it but I’ll tell you – it’s neat! It’s all in the details 🙂

P1080320

Well, that’s all I have to say about this dress really. There were many more highs than lows – no disasters, and I can’t even remember unpicking anything!! The phrase ‘practice makes perfect’ is proven correct once again. Must make more garments with the same pattern!

Beth x

 

21 thoughts on “Party Dress No. 2

  1. The dress and your daughter are adorable. I used to sew for my two daughters when they were little and they still remember those clothes. Regarding the button loops – I often use ponytail elastic for the loops instead of struggling with turning fabric loops.

    Like

    • Thank you 🙂 Aw, I hope mine remember their clothes! Thanks for the button loops tip – I have read many times that they great for loops for things like wallets, but it never occurred to me to use them on the dress! Well I will have to make another one, won’t I! 🙂

      Like

  2. Pingback: SSS: Weekly Wrap Up Round 4 | the Sometimes Sewist

  3. The dress is absolutely gorgeous she just looks so sweet! I would of chosen a pattern like this to make for my daughter sooo girlie! And I agree the youngest is definitely always the baby my youngest is 16 next month but she’s still my baby x😊

    Like

    • Thanks Teresa 🙂 Everyone says she’s adorable but I do have to write for the record that she is a little monkey at times!! She likes to draw EVERYWHERE!! Haha.
      Anyway…. I made the size 18 months, and then thinking about it realised she is actually 19 months so I guess it should have been the 2 year size… I was thinking she’s still my baby!! 😥
      I’m beginning to realise why you make so many of the same skirt… isn’t is so much easier the 2nd time round (and I presume the 3rd, 4th 5th….) 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  4. Oh wow! I gotta learn how to make dresses! It looks tough! I don’t suppose you’ve made shirts? I’m hoping to try making some shirts for my boys. Not sure I’ll ever get around to it haha! Anyway I love your blog name. I totally get what you mean about sewing after bedtime – kid’s and hubby’s! 🙂

    Like

    • Oh, it’s easy when you know how! There are a few techniques to learn but nothing incredibly difficult for this dress. Making clothes for your kids is a really rewarding thing.
      Sorry, I’ve never made a shirt! I have seen it done, though. If you find a pattern, I’m sure you can do it. Haha, you might have to start making it one (or two!) sizes bigger so that by the time you finish it it will still fit! Bit by bit, you will get there over several evenings! Thanks for your comment and for reading 🙂

      Like

  5. Awe! How adorable! I love the fabrics, fairies and polka dots are good whimsical fun! Looks very well put together as well thanks to having made it before. I used to think making the same garment more than once would be boring! Then I made two of the same dress and realized it was fun and made things go much smoother. Keep up the good work!

    Like

    • Isn’t it so cute! Thanks for your kind words, I used to think exactly the same – why would you want to make the same thing twice?! But it really is so much easier the second time round; there’s none of that brain-ache you get from figuring out a pattern in the beginning!

      Like

I really enjoy reading your comments; please do share your thoughts!

