Smart Sewing [Simple Sew’s Lottie Skirt]

Yay, I’ve fiiiinally got round to blogging this. I’ve been wanting to, but put it off because it doesn’t look very exciting; it’s grey. Still, it was an accomplishment, so I want to record it!

With two Lottie Blouses in my wardrobe, it was about time a Lottie skirt joined them.

P1080492.

I just have to start by saying – this skirt FITS!! Hooray!!

I used a lovely grey wool suiting fabric, which I picked up in a charity shop for about ยฃ5 (I think I used just over half, so it was a good buy!) I saw it hanging there and thought ‘Lottie skirt’!

Love Sewing Issue 2

I thought the pattern was good; the instructions were vague in some places – but this did give me a good feeling of pride when I managed to figure out what to do anyway!

Step 3 confused me; there is a diagram of the waistband with a fold line through the centre, but no mention of actually folding it. Then the pivoting step had me flummoxed for a while. I think I did it wrong, because there’s a little line of stitches, which looks silly… (you can just about make it out in the photo below) but this is what was described as far as I can tell!

P1080604

And the pleat’s insertion was confusing because it didn’t fit properly… another problem with my cutting or the sizing!

Back to the beginning, though – the first hurdle I had to overcome was the fact that my waistband was too narrow. I don’t know if this was down to my cutting, or the pattern.

P1080196

This was how narrow it was on both sides!

P1080197

So I cut a new waistband, which turned out to be between sizes 10 and 12 (the skirt is an 8.) If you have made a Lottie skirt – I’ve seen lots of blouses but not skirts! – please let me know if the same thing happened to you, or if it was a mistake on my part – although I can’t think what it could be!

P1080201

Once the pieces were cut properly, everything went together really well. I’ve never sewn with suiting fabric before, but I am looking forward to using it again. It was thick and bumpy in places, but it didn’t slip and slide about, which I enjoyed!

The biggest problem I had with the fabric was that it was bulky around the waistband area when inserting the zip. I had to unpick and re-sew, a bit further away – so it’s not so concealed for an inch or so. I’m in two minds as to whether it looks too silly or not…

Simple Sew - Lottie Skirt

Also, I think I put the hook on the wrong way round! Whoops…. a minor detail, though! At least my seams match!

Simple Sew - Lottie Skirt

After my problems with the fit of various garments, I’m really pleased with the fit of this skirt. The waistband sits nicely, without digging in or gaping. The darts work well, and [I think!] the whole shape is flattering.

P1080519.

The only thing I would do differently next time is to shorten it a little at the pattern/cutting stage. The pattern has shortening/lengthening marks on it – but I realised it was a bit on the long side when I was at the hemming stage. So obviously all I could do was hack a couple of inches off the bottom. It looks OK, but I suppose it’s lost the pencil shape slightly.

Simple Sew - Lottie Skirt

Once the length was sorted – oh my goodness – I made a really stupid mistake. I’m actually quite embarrassed to admit it. I mustn’t have been concentrating…

P1080262

Yes, I sewed the pleat together at the hem. God only knows why. So my trusty unpicker made an appearance and with a little bit more work on the sewing machine, I opened it up as it is meant to be!

Simple Sew - Lottie Skirt

Now, the only problem I have is that the pleat sticks out a little. I’m not sure what I can do to make it lie flat? Yes, I have tried pressing it (a lot) but it doesn’t work!

Simple Sew - Lottie Skirt

Once that’s sorted, it’ll be ready for me to wear to an interview or work… ideally for something craft-related ๐Ÿ˜› Until then, it’s hung in my wardrobe for me to admire every now and again.

Beth x

19 thoughts on “Smart Sewing [Simple Sew’s Lottie Skirt]

  1. I’ve come over to disagree with you saying your skirt being plain grey isn’t special. The fabric looks very good quality and warm, the invisible zip is very invisible and the fit is great. Also I have a dress with a similar pleat at the back and it only sits flat if I press it with my mum’s far more advanced iron. xx

    Liked by 1 person

    • Haha thank you!! Well this skirt did win me a job when I wore it to an interview! I managed to press that pleat down a lot more for the interview, it took a while and I was using a new iron! X

      Like

  2. Pingback: Sunday Sevens [Week 28] | After Dark Sewing

  3. Pingback: A Men’s “Dopp Kit” | After Dark Sewing

  4. Hi Beth, I’m just making my Lottie skirt and found that my waist and doesn’t match up to the skirt! Just thought you’d like to know it’s not just you, I was trawling Google to see if anyone else had this problem and I’m glad I found your post xxx

    Like

    • Oh I’m so glad it wasn’t me!! Thanks a lot for letting me know! I’m pleased I could help you out – although I’ve basically told you you need to cut another waistband, which is annoying!

      Like

      • Haha yes! Luckily I have plenty of fabric to do so. I love your version – it’s turned out really cute and your fabric is perfect xx

        Like

  5. You did a great job. The little stitch above the pleat is correct and the pleat might lie flatter if you steam it with your iron. With wool we used to dampen a pressing cloth and press it with the cloth on top of the pleat. Works quite well. Enjoy and be proud of yourself. I’ve been sewing for 60 some years and still love creating something. I try to get in there and sew something every single day.

    Like

    • Thanks a lot, Anne. I feel better now knowing that the little stitch is actually meant to be there!
      I will take your advice and hope it works, thanks for commenting!
      Wow, 60 years… I hope I can say that in 60 years time – what an amazing thought! You’re an inspiration.

      Like

  6. Great skirt, well done! I think reading your post made me realise how mistakes that can seem hugely irritating to the maker, are barely noticeable to other people, so we need to try not to get too hung up on them. I wore a newly made dress to school today and felt I had to mention the wiggly too stitching every time someone complimented me on the dress! What kinds of craft related jobs will you be looking for? Sounds exciting, good luck!

    Like

    • That is true! If we were to inspect ready to wear garments, we’d find plenty of mistakes! Our handmade stuff is probably better!! But still it doesn’t stop me seeking absolute perfection!
      Well I’m just thinking of an ideal dream world situation where I’d work in a fabric shop or something like that! And thanks ๐Ÿ˜€

      Liked by 1 person

  7. Always worth blogging about, even if it’s just for your own records to refer back to. This looks great and really useful. I’ve not tried this as it seemed to similar to BHL’s Charlotte Skirt, which I love too much to be disloyal to. I think you’ve done a really good job ๐Ÿ™‚

    Like

  8. I have that pattern at home and mean to make it at some point over the next few months. Your skirt looks great – the few little things you pointed out don’t take away from the overall look of it and I really like the fabric you used.

    Like

I really enjoy reading your comments; please do share your thoughts!

