Mens Sweatshirt to Ladies Tank Top *Refashion*

My boyfriend is one of those people who wears something once or twice and then gets bored of it.
This sweatshirt was one of those things.

Mens Sweatshirt Refashion Into Ladies Tank Top

When he said that he no longer wanted it, of course I swooped in and hung it on my to-refashion rail. I like the design, and it looks new because he probably wore it only once. Now it’s all miiiiiiine. I got out my scissors and sewing machine, and an hour later I had this:

Mens Sweatshirt Refashion Into Ladies Tank TopI love it!

Here’s a quick how-to if you’re interested:

Refashion a mens sweatshirt into a ladies tank top!

Firstly you need to find a tank top that fits and place it on top of the sweatshirt.

Mens Sweatshirt Refashion Into Ladies Tank Top

Cut around it, leaving some seam allowance. You should leave a good couple of inches if the top you’re using as a guide is stretchy and the sweatshirt isn’t. You might also want to cut off the store label!

Mens Sweatshirt Refashion Into Ladies Tank Top

I chose to leave the hem in place until I tried the top on. Only then did I decide to cut it away, too – but you could do this at the beginning. If so, put it, along with the sleeves and neckline, to one side (you may use these for something else; waste not, want not!)

Next, with right sides together, sew down the two sides.

Mens Sweatshirt Refashion Into Ladies Tank Top

You may leave the top like this if you like – after turning it right side out, of course – as the edges shouldn’t fray if it’s made of a normal sweatshirt material. However if you are not too keen on this look, you can turn under the edges of the hem, neckline and armholes and sew, close to the edge. (Which is what I did, after some deliberation!)

Mens Sweatshirt Refashion Into Ladies Tank Top

And there you have it – a new top in an evening, and an old sweatshirt saved from landfill.

Quick selfie!

*Refashion* Mens Sweatshirt into a Ladies Tank Top

Beth x

39 thoughts on “Mens Sweatshirt to Ladies Tank Top *Refashion*

  1. Pingback: 2015 Sewing Goals [6 Month Check] | After Dark Sewing

  2. Nice job! Making it into a tank top is a good solution to the problem of men’s shirts having those ridiculously wide shoulders. I’ve got a men’s long-sleeved tee that I was thinking of refashioning, but the shoulder seams are halfway down my arms. I’ll keep this in mind as a possible solution.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. This looks really good on you. It won’t be happening in this house as my husband wears his stuff until it is dropping off him. When he gets something new, he wears it once or twice but soon forgets it’s new and wears it to chop logs/build henhouses/cut down trees/walk dogs/do painting/change tyres etc. 😦

    Liked by 2 people

I really enjoy reading your comments; please do share your thoughts!