Wiggle Wiggle Wiggle… The Eva Wiggle Dress!

This is the Eliza M Eva “Wiggle” Dress. The pattern came free with issue 6 of Love Sewing magazine last year. In terms of layout etc., the pattern seems similar to the Simple Sew patterns that come free with the magazine, so I’m wondering if there’s some kind of collaboration going on. Still, the name’s different so I would think that Eliza M still counts as “new to me” for my entry on this week’s Indie Pattern Month contest on The Monthly Stitch!

Eva Wiggle Dress

Of course the fabric is blue and white to tie in with my non-intentional blue and white themed month! (There was my blue and white stiped dress, blue and white spotty skirt, and now this. I have already made next week’s ‘One Pattern Two Takes’ garments and one is blue and white!!)

Anyway, back to the dress.

Eva Wiggle Dress

I sewed this up in no time at all. The construction is really straightforward – which is good as the pattern’s instructions are incomplete; they don’t even tell you to sew the facings to the dress; they skip straight to trimming and clipping the seams!

eva dress instructions

With no seams to finish as it’s sewn with knit fabric (I used a ponte roma to be precise) and only four pattern pieces, it was a breeze.

Eva Wiggle Dress

I do really like the finished dress. It almost fits me straight out the envelope; I just had to take in the back seam a bit as it was gaping at the top.

Eva Wiggle Dress

The only change I made to the pattern was to omit the zip, which should be at the centre back. With such a stretchy dress I don’t see the need for a zip! Next time I will cut the back piece on the fold.

Eva Wiggle Dress

The one thing that bothered me with this pattern is the darts. I think the knit fabric is just a bit too bulky to have darts in it. I sewed them in twice and they still bobble a little at the ends. I am putting it down to the ponte roma rather than my sewing because I’m not bad at darts, and if I could just press this fabric it would help!! The fabric doesn’t hold when pressed!

Eva Wiggle Dress

I do really like the waist darts (which are called and drawn as bust darts in the instructions just to confuse you); they give the dress a nice shape.

Eva Wiggle Dress

Oh, I didn’t even attempt to pattern match because it’s impossible with the shape and size of fabric I used. I don’t think it matters anyway; the whole finished look is sketchy (not in a bad way) which I like! I quite like how the back is lighter than the front.

Eva Wiggle Dress

Right, time to go and pick some strawberries; I’d better put on some jeans!

Beth x

P.S. I don’t know what I’m going to do with all these new clothes I’m making… I have limited wardrobe space!!

42 thoughts on “Wiggle Wiggle Wiggle… The Eva Wiggle Dress!

  1. Pingback: 2015 Sewing Goals [6 Month Check] | After Dark Sewing

  2. Hi Beth! We love your Eva dress and are even more impressed you made it without the instructions. We would like to feature it on the Love Sewing “Readers’ Makes” page if you’re interested? If you don’t mind emailing me an original photo we can make that happen (photos taken from the internet don’t print so well you see). Thanks!

    Like

    • Thank you! It’s harder to stop sewing clothes than it is to buy them!
      Well I’m in the final of the contest so hooray, there was a good reason to make this πŸ˜€

      Like

  3. This is just lovely on you and the fabric is great. Sounds like they need a proof reader/pattern tester though, so it’s just as well you are experienced enough to work out the missing instructions!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Looks fab! I made this too and love it. I missed the zip out too it would be wrong in the fabric too I thought! I used a ponte for mine for winter. You’ve made me want to sew another!!!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thanks πŸ™‚ you would like it being navy blue! I think a lot of people just have the pattern but I haven’t seen many made up – not like that Ruby dress! It would suit you!

      Liked by 1 person

    • I would like to think people would think I’m fashionable but I feel that they’d only think I’m a fool! So I went in jeans and a t-shirt like everyone else… Thanks πŸ™‚

      Liked by 1 person

  5. I guess if you cut the pattern on the fold then the split would be more challenging. And I have the same issue with space, so have moved on to very slow dress making recently (say one garment every two months). I also regard more items as learning garments – where your technique improves and you make something that you only wear a few times and then send off to the charity shop so someone else can enjoy it.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Oh yeah I did think of that when I was making it but forgot when I was writing it!! I wonder if I can make do without the split. Yeah I do need to sort through my wardrobe …

      Like

  6. Very flattering on you and far too good to pick strawberries in. I’m with you in the ‘if there’s no need for a zip, why bother?’ camp. As for limited wardrobe space, just do what I do and elbow everybody else’s stuff out of the way πŸ˜‰

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you πŸ™‚ yeah it’s a bit odd that they think it requires a zip when it’s designed for stretch fabrics. Haha true – the kids don’t need clothes right?

      Like

I really enjoy reading your comments; please do share your thoughts!

