Baby Doll Nappies & Wipes

After all the dressmaking recently I have felt the need to make some smaller, quick projects. I have wanted to make some cloth nappies for my daughters’ dolls for some time now – so I did that last week!
(By the way, if you’re not British… by nappies I mean diapers!!)

Modelled by Baby Annabell, this is nappy number one:

baby doll nappy

Yeah – you don’t get much cuter than this!

It was dead simple to make – literally two pieces of fabric sewn together, pop on some Velcro and Bob’s your uncle!

baby doll nappy

doll nappy

The inspiration came from a guest post on Craftaholics Anonymous. You have to make your own pattern, but it’s not hard.

Of course I had to make one more for when this one is dirty…

doll nappy

I can’t get enough of this cute fabric! (It’s what my Blue Ridge Dress is made of if you can’t put your finger on where you’ve seen it!)

The nappies are lined with a really fluffy fabric. Now, the tutorial recommends you use minky. I am all for recycling, upcycling, repurposing, etc. etc. – so mine are made with an old dressing gown. I think it’s better than expensive minky!

Finally, the tutorial tells you how to make a sweet little wipe case and wipes. It’s a very simple project – great if you’re lazy like me and can’t be bothered to figure out the best sizing!

The wipes are made with the dressing gown’s hood lining, which is a flannel/brushed cotton kind of fabric. They are fraying a bit, but who cares?!

doll wipes

doll wipes

So this was all cheap to make, with stuff I already had. And they’re going down well with my girls, so all’s good. I do love a cheap, quick and easy project every once in a while.

Beth x

28 thoughts on “Baby Doll Nappies & Wipes

  1. They are gorgeous Beth, baby Annabel looks rather cute. I made similar nappies for Abi, a few years ago now for her baby Annabel, they are such great dolls! I also made matching school uniform as she got older, a simple grey skirt, white top and a friends mum knitted little cardigans. Your girls must love it when you make bits for their dolls, Abi did. I really missed it with Josh but teddy did get a few outfits 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

I really enjoy reading your comments; please do share your thoughts!

