The 20p Coco

If you follow me on Twitter you may have seen that some time ago I bought a few meters of some unknown knit fabric. For 20p a metre. Yeah, that’s not a typo. The fabric shop staff didn’t know what it was so were selling it off at 20p!! It’s a soft, medium weight, scuba type knit, in a rich purple colour.
Well I finally made something with it! A plain and simple Coco dress.

Coco

I whizzed it up in an evening. Didn’t bother with pockets, cuffs or the funnel neck! I thought I’d keep it simple because I haven’t sewn anything for myself for a good couple of months; I wanted a quick fix!

I chose the Coco because of it’s simplicity in design; no darts or anything that would cause the dress to be too bulky. Because the fabric is relatively heavy.

I don’t tend to like 3/4 length sleeves because I’m always cold but decided to sew them for a change… and I thinkΒ they look nice!

Coco

This is only my second Coco; I wear my blue one loads so I don’t know why it’s taken me so long to make another. I made the last one in a size 3 and it is pretty baggy so I cut my traced pattern down to a size 2 for this one. And the fit is now fab πŸ™‚ If I’m honest it was a little tight under the arms but I’m wearing it as I write and it’s now midday, and it must have stretched a bit because it’s not so bad.Β Phew. That was my silly fault for not sticking to the size 3 around the arms because I’ve had this problem before with armsyces….

Coco

But on the whole it’s soooo comfy. I’m soooo happy that I have a couple more metres of this fabric!

What more can I say? Everyone loves a Coco….

Coco

Beth x

P.S. Edit: This was my 100th post. Yay! Thank you dear sewing friends πŸ˜›

post-milestone-100-2x

35 thoughts on “The 20p Coco

  1. Well, that’s a bargain that doesn’t come around very often! Again, the Coco suits you so well and the tights are brilliant with it. Very glam new hairdo – short and swingy and very sassy:)

    Like

  2. Congratulations on you 100th post! Such a milestone. I’ve never made a coco. I generally like more structure but I’ve seen many versions that I would be very happy to wear. I think it’s all about the fabric, which you’ve definitely got right here.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Oh perhaps you should make one soon, I think they suit a variety of shapes and sizes! I like fitted clothing too – at least I thought I did til I discovered the coco. I’m wearing it again and it is so nice to wear something a bit more free (in movement) for a change! Maybe you’ll try it one day πŸ™‚

      Like

  3. That fabric was a bargain, especially since you found a pattern for it that works so well. I always have the tight arms problem whenever I go down a size, I keep forgetting they aren’t as thin as I think. It turned out a lovely dress and the colour suits you too, nice tights btw.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. What a bargain. That scuba fabric works well with the A line shape. What will you make with the rest? I know scuba fabric works well with more fitted garments too as my daughter made a costume for Comicon which had quite a body hugging bodice.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Yes it really skims over my body and actually now it’s on it’s not as bulky as I imagined so I’m considering making an Eliza M wiggle dress. I think the ponte I made my wiggle dress out of is thicker than this!

      Like

I really enjoy reading your comments; please do share your thoughts!

