GBSB Pleated Skirts!

My sister wanted a tartan skirt for Christmas. I originally visualised a Tilly & The Buttons Clemence. Then about a week or so before Christmas I remembered the box pleated skirt in the Great British Sewing Bee ‘Sew Your Own Wardrobe’ book. I’ve been wanting to make it since before I bought the book, well over a year ago. So I chose to make that.

Of course I had to use this excuse to make myself one first – a practice run! And I knew which fabric I was going to use – some that I’d actually bought with a Clemence in mind. (Move over, Clemence!) Sewing-themed fabric!

GBSB pleated skirt

I bought only 1m (for about £4) because I know I can get a Clemence out of it (with the waistband being a different fabric like my spotty Clemence’s). The above pic shows the two pattern pieces pinned on. This is on my coffee table, which is juuusst about completely covered. There’s some hanging down the long edge. I cut the waistband out of this afterwards. Yeah, it’s on the opposite grain but I didn’t think it’d matter. And it didn’t!

I’ll kick off with a close-up of the front pleats. I love them!

GBSB pleated skirt

I traced the pattern, cut the fabric, and tacked the pleats one evening. And sewed it all up the next. It was a dream to sew.

GBSB pleated skirt

The pattern features a lapped zip, which I very rarely sew. But it went well. I don’t know if I prefer it to an invisible zip, though. Yeah, I could have done with a bit more seam allowance at the top! I thought I’d be a good girl and follow the book’s instructions for the zip. Well, needless to say, I should have done it my own way!

GBSB pleated skirt

I cut a size 14, to my measurements. Once it was made, I couldn’t decide if it was right or not. I think I could do with going a size smaller.

GBSB pleated skirt

But overall I’m really happy with it. It was so refreshing to make something for myself. Oh yeah, I also recently made a Seamwork Oslo, which I’ve forgotten to blog… I WILL do that soon!

I’m going to post about the tartan skirt in a day or two, just so that this post doesn’t get boringly long. I’ll just say one thing – it was more of a challenge!

HAPPY NEW YEAR!!! Make it a crafty one!! 😀

Beth x

26 thoughts on “GBSB Pleated Skirts!

  1. Pingback: GBSB Pleated Skirt – the tartan one! | After Dark Sewing

  2. Love the fabric. Beautiful skirt, you will love wearing it and I’m sure you’re going to get lots of people admiring it! Well done – looking forward to seeing the tartan version too!
    My son got Star Wars curtains for Christmas. He’s let me have his old Spider-Man ones to cut up…am thinking dress or skirt (or pyjamas!) – for me, of course…he is sooooooo over Spider-Man now!!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you 😀 I’m just finishing the tartan post off now – it’ll be posted tomorrow! Oooh I do love a bit of upcycling. Sounds fun! 😀
      The fabric was from a page on Facebook, but she sold out now and I’m not sure she’s getting anymore 😦 But if you’re quick, http://www.sewsewfabrics.co.uk have it at £4 in their sale! Spend £20 for free delivery – easily done! I’ve used the site a few times, they’re great! 🙂

      Like

  3. This looks really lovely! Great choice of fabric, and what a bargain for £4! The pleats look great, and a lapped zip is a mystery to me as yet so I am very impressed by that too. Looking forward to hearing about the tartan skirt soon!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Well done, it looks cute. I love the fabric and have used it to make a sewing box before but I’m sure I paid a lot more than £4 a meter for it. I can only imagine the challenges you faced with the tartan version – I have had more than a few run ins with the dreaded plaid. I look forward to seeing it.

    Liked by 1 person

I really enjoy reading your comments; please do share your thoughts!

