Pretty In Pink – Travel Sewing Kit

Now that Christmas has been and gone I can finally share some of the presents I made for my family. First up is my sister’s ultra cute sewing kit. She doesn’t sew but just wanted a few things to enable her to do the basics. So I bought her some needles, little scissors, threads and pins (and made a tiny pincushion!) – and made the kit to hold it all in.

sewing kit

I followed the excellent tutorial on the blog of ‘Lots of Pink Here’.

I’m really pleased with how it turned out. It’s functional and pretty! Win-win!

It folds up into a handy A5-ish shape, and has a long tie to fasten it.

sewing kit

I really enjoyed making this, mostly because I have been making a lot of clothing over the past few months; this made a nice change and used some different techniques.

To begin with I had to quilt the main pieces. OK, it’s only a bunch of straight lines but I liked sewing them! And I think I did a pretty good job at keeping them straight.

sewing kit

The tutorial calls for bias tape, 2 1/4″ wide. I was feeling lazy so thought I’d cheat and use some ready-made tape. The snag was that it was only 1/2″ wide. Hmm… a slight difference!

bias binding

It was fiddly, but it wasn’t as disastrous as you might think. The result was a cute, neat edge on the pockets. Luckily my slanted stitching is only visible in the photo – not so much in real life!

sewing kit

The sewing kit has two good-sized pockets, a thread holder, a scissor case and a little needle book. The scissor case was probably the most frustrating part; it was a challenge trying to get it straight!

sewing kit

The thread holder is a cute idea. It’s got a teeny bit of Velcro to hold it down, and it can fit three or four spools of thread on it; although to be honest the strip is a tad thick so they don’t slip on very easily!

sewing kit

Once all the bits were sewed on, I just had to trim the edges with bias binding. It suddenly occurred to me that I made too much bias binding when I made my Sorbetto top – out of the same ditsy floral fabric that lines this sewing kit!!

bias binding

So I used that! And there was just about the right amount. I machine-stitched it down on one side then hand-stitched the other, which gave a nice neat finish that I’m pretty proud of. I achieved some good metered corners, too, which was new to me!

mitered corner

And that’s it!

sewing kit

Shame I didn’t take a photo of it all filled up because it was really cute!

As I’m not doing a lot of sewing at the moment due to it being the school holidays, I will share a couple more of the gifts I made for Christmas soon!

Beth x

18 thoughts on “Pretty In Pink – Travel Sewing Kit

  1. This is a lovely idea. Not just for people who sew a little but for people who sew alot who just want some needles, thread, scissors, tweezers (stray tailors’ tacks) and a tape measure in their handbag. Thank you.

    Like

    • You’re welcome and thank you! I should really make a kit for myself – there’s always a trailing thread that needs snipping when I’m out and I never carry scissors!

      Like

  2. Pingback: A Jewellery Wrap and a Make-Up Brush Roll | After Dark Sewing

  3. Pingback: A Men’s “Dopp Kit” | After Dark Sewing

  4. Well done that looks great! And it’s always an amazing feeling when a gift turns out well 🙂 For your next sewing kit have a look at Kerry Green’s tute on the liberty website! That is gorgeous and the zip is fiddly but worth it.

    Like

  5. Fabulous! Little items like this are great for trying/perfecting lots of techniques quickly. Looks like you’ve got quilting, bias binding and mitred corners down to a fine art already…

    Like

I really enjoy reading your comments; please do share your thoughts!

