Let’s do the Blog Hop!

Hello and welcome to my first ever blog hop post!

Blog Hop

The lovely Teresa @ navybluethreads nominated me for a blog hop, which basically links us all up so that we can get to know each other better.

I really enjoy reading Teresa’s posts; she has an ever-increasing collection of Ginger skirts (Colette Patterns) and it seems she just knocks up clothing in the time it takes me to make a cup of tea!! So if you’ve not come from her blog, hop on over there 🙂

Before I introduce you to my chosen ‘hoppers’, here’s a bit of info about me and my blog…

Why do I write?

Well, I’ll start at the beginning. I started volunteering for my local newspaper, and the editor suggested everyone blogs. I wasn’t very aware of blogging at that time; I didn’t regularly read any blogs, and my reason for never starting my own was that I didn’t think I knew anything interesting to write about. I enjoy writing – I think I’m better at it than I am at talking. But I think my life is quite ordinary.

At the same time as the editor was suggesting this, I was getting into sewing. I used to dip in and out of sewing (mostly due to having children) but knew I enjoyed it. So, I thought, hmm… I could write about sewing. So I went for it. I discovered that I sew a lot more, and consequently learn a lot more, when I aim to write about it every week. It’s like there’s a deadline looming and I must finish making something. I enjoy sharing what I sew with other like-minded people. Writing my blog gives me something to focus on, and I think it has  definitely helped me improve my sewing abilities. I’m now dressmaking! I have learnt so much by just writing about it – strange when you think about it, really. Writing is helping me learn to sew!

Now, I’m writing this, and it’s going online – but I don’t actually mind too much if nobody is interested in it. I’m not trying to show off – I’m quite aware that I’m no expert (yet!) when it comes to sewing. Blogging is opening up my world. Things like this blog hop create links for me to find other material to read – and it helps me learn. You can never stop learning!

What am currently working on?

At the moment, I’m working on my second Sew Simple Lottie Blouse – a sleeveless version. It’s a challenge as I’m making it out of viscose. If it stops falling apart, I will write a post about it in the near future!

P1080269

How does it differ from others of its genre?

When I thought up the idea to write about sewing, I found that there are loaaaaads of sewing blogs out there. A lot of sewers blog about their creations. I like to think that I’m a teeny bit different as I am not only ‘showing off’ my makes; I am writing about the “highs and lows” – i.e. I try to write about the silly mistakes I make. I hope this is a comfort for beginner sewers to read!

Also, I do the majority of my sewing once my young daughters are tucked up in bed – so I only get a few hours a day. I think this blog proves that if you are a busy mum, you can still have that ‘me time,’ enjoying partaking in a hobby you love. I have made some pretty things for my girls, which I often write about because it’s fun! Perhaps other mums can relate.

And also, I have recently starting taking part in Sundays Sevens, where I write a post on Sundays showing seven photos from my week (clue’s in the name!) This gives you a little insight into my life – I don’t want to be a lifestyle blog, but I like to show that I am a normal person who sews in her spare time! And it’s fun! Which leads me onto my final point, that I must mention, as prompted by Teresa… I like to add a bit of jolliness if possible, by sharing the crazy things I make from time to time (e.g. my totally random washing-up-liquid bottle aprons!) After all… “If we couldn’t laugh we would all go insane.” ― Robert Frost.

PicMonkey Collage

How does my writing process work?

I like to post once a week – however recently it has been more often as I have taken part in Sunday Sevens, and other bits and bobs sometimes pop up like this blog hop and awards I have been kindly nominated for. My writing process usually goes like this:

  1. I find something I want to sew.
  2. Whilst sewing, I think about whether or not it would be interesting to write about.
  3. If it makes the post, I will take some photos.
  4. I will sometimes begin drafting a post before I’ve finished making the project, if I want to jot down some errors I made or important things to remember.
  5. I then finish writing the rest of the post, and add photos.

I tend not to go over and over a post, because I feel I would be editing it forever and I would do nothing else with my life! I often do not type a whole post in one sitting, though. This is mainly because I just don’t have the time. I will usually write over 1-2 days.

Having said this, I did type this whole post up in one sitting. (However I had to leave it until now to post it to make sure my nominees wanted to take part in the hopping!) That was the most speedy blogging ever in the history of After Dark Sewing! This is because I plonked my little one in front of Cbeebies!!

******

Now to pass on the blog hop baton to two bloggers who I am quite a loyal reader of!

Toya @ Made by Toya is also a mother of two and she makes some fantastic clothes for her children. I made my little girls’ dungarees using her pattern. She’s amazing!

Then there’s Becky @ SpringyStitches, who is apparently only a beginner at dressmaking, but her garments are amazing. She inspires me!

Have fun hopping!! 😀

******

Finally, if you’re new here, thanks for hopping along and getting to the end.

 

Beth x

4 thoughts on “Let’s do the Blog Hop!

I really enjoy reading your comments; please do share your thoughts!

